Public Service Announcement

I’ve been giving some thought to the blog and I think it’s time for a slight change in format. I looked back at some of my older posts and most of the ones that I enjoy reading are for bad films. Nobody needs me to write 1000 words on why The Exorcist is a good movie.

Are there people out there who are thinking, “I wonder if Night of the Living Dead is worth 90 minutes of my time. I think I’ll cruise over to Dan’s blog and see if he has any sassy comments or not-so-clever puns about George A Romero’s genre-creating classic.”

I hope not.

So the point is, I’m going to focus on movies that most people have not seen, particularly in 3 groups:

  • New Horror Movies: I missed the boat on It Follows and Babadook, but these newer, big-name kinds of movies are still fair game.
  • Obscure Horror Movies: This is kind of a big tent. I’m including foreign, older/forgotten and underrated films.
  • Just Really Bad Horror Movies: This is the fun stuff. We’re looking for Rotten Tomatoes scores under 30. Or anything starring Nicholas Cage. Far be it from me to attack somebody’s art, but really, sometimes a movie just needs to be shat upon. And I’m just the guy to do it.

Also, I know I’ve been MIA for quite a while, but I’m going to try to get back into the swing of things. I hope the new format will make it more fun for me to write. As you can imagine, it’s easier and more entertaining to write a review of a terrible movie than to write the 9000th review just praising a great movie.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

